Re: Tagged + Update

My cousin Becca tagged me, and I'm really excited to be a bit mindless and answer questions. I'm really missing home tonight and after reading all the families' blogs I'm both happy and sad. Thanks everyone for the updates on your lives, the pictures, the stories, the fun; this is almost like having a conversation.

  • Where were you born? Logan, UT
  • Middle name: Lyn
  • How old will you be this year? 22/23
  • Nicknames: Mandy
  • Are you taller than your mother or father? Negative. I break even with mama.
  • Do you cry often during movies? Um, honestly? I don't watch many movies. Or TV. In fact, I must be seriously compelled to spend my time sitting in front of a box. I did watch the entire seasons of the TV shows Weeds and Big Love and felt it was quality entertainment. The number of explanations I've given about Utah and Mormons is stunning-- people really think polygamy is the norm there!
    • Yes, I cry easily.
  • What is your biggest pet peeve? Spelling, hands down. I go faint when I find I've misspelled something, not in a one-time error situation, but because I didn't actually know how to spell. I also don't appreciate jokes made at the expense of others.
  • Favorite color: I am going to hate the color gray by the time I wrap up my NCCC program, and will probably want to burn my uniforms. Until then I'm going to say gray and khaki are the colors of my life and it's useless to dream of anything else. Yeah for black undershirts!! And poop on me for having a gray nightgown (although I do love my nightgown).
    • PS. Most of the my regular clothing is stuff my mom made for me and I would like to publicly thank her for her talents. My right to brag: I have 3 pairs of spandex pants and I wear them like it's the 80's, of course only on weekends and evenings.
  • Favorite foods: Good food. I appreciate food with flavor, food that was cooked with love, food with quality ingredients. I wish I could have some shepherd's pie and hot rolls...
    • Oh, get this! Right now we get $5 per day per person for food, and considering that we cook our meals and pack our lunches and shop in bulk for a house of 7, we are eating superbly. I found out, however, that while on spike project we will be eating lunches given to us by the Salvation Army (I've heard rumors that it's not so tasty), and we will get $150 per week to buy food for other meals. $150 per week for 11 people... Rice and potatoes and beans?
  • Favorite restaurants: Kamin Thai, Indian Oven, and Happy Sushi. I miss the restaurants in Logan. I have no idea what the restaurants in Perry Point, MD are like and I'm not sure I care to find out. They don't look too appealing...
  • Favorite beverage: Water. I've been drinking unfiltered tap water against their recommendations. It tastes bad but I feel fine.
  • Favorite cold cereal: Raisin Bran or Frosted Mini Wheats. I love fiber.
  • Favorite smells: Farm, food, newly cut alfalfa hay, and coffee.
  • Favorite time of day: All times, especially the middle of the night.
  • What brand of shampoo/conditioner do you use? Pantene. I can't afford anything better right now and it holds my curls together.
  • Favorite make-up products? I really like to wear blush.
  • How many pillows do you sleep with? I've downsized significantly in the last year. When I moved to the canyon during the summer I went from 5 to 3, then in my last apt I was down to 2. I used a fleece sweater for the month of travel and happened to find a feather pillow in a closet upon arrival at PP. I've wondered how unhealthy it is to use a pillow from an unknown place/person. I did put my own pillow case on it...
  • Do you play an instrument? I miss playing the piano. I would love to take lessons again.
  • Have you ever been skinny dipping? Yes. I love nudity. My first time was in Tony Grove lake with some cousins :D
  • Did you do any sports in High School? I worked.
  • What was the last movie you saw in the theater? Wow. I am really not sure. Maybe Harry Potter 3 years ago? No, Silent Hill maybe? 2 years ago I think.
  • What is your favorite article of clothing? Stuff made by mom. And dresses. The particular favorite article is the beanie I wear every day that my auntie K helped me find in New Mexico. I seriously live in this beanie. If I'm not in uniform there's a 75% chance you will find me wearing it, even while sleeping.
  • What is your dream vacation? Right now? Home.
  • What was your first impression of your spouse? I'll tell you later.
  • If you were an animal what would you be? A kitty.
  • What is your favorite "me- time" activity? Reading and writing blogs, crocheting & knitting, day dreaming without interruption.
  • Favorite TV shows: Big Love and Weeds. HBO has some quality drama.
  • What is your dream car? My bicycle. Anything else is second rate. For driving purposes I would be happy with something second-hand that gets good gas mileage and is reliable. I just don't drive much.
  • What is one of your weaknesses? My arms. PT proved my lower body is much stronger.
  • What do you fix for dinner when there's nothing to fix? Usually pasta with pesto. Now, whatever. My life is so different that I can't come up with a general answer.
  • If you could live in a different decade/era which one would it be? I like the 20's for fashion and the initial freedom women experienced. The 30's and 40's seem so depressed. The 50's would be fun for me-- I want to grow up to be a housewife-- but maybe not much fun for the people shoved into social roles they don't like. 60's and 70's sound like drug induced delirium and std's. The 80's rocked but the shoulder pads were too much, get off the power trip. I would say my current era. I can sort of do whatever I want, including dress or act the part of previous generations.
  • What is the emotion you feel the most? Excited and happy.
  • Do you consider yourself outgoing? Mostly. I thought. But someone told me that I'm intimidating and that makes me think I'm not friendly and outgoing in the way I want to be.
  • What is something you are constantly working on? Being healthy. I can't get over this sinus infection and the cough is still rattling in my lungs. My skin is sore to the touch again and my gums are really sore, and I'm feeling the same way I did a week and a half ago just before I got sick. I really hope I'm not getting something new. I get so whiny and homesick when I don't feel well.
  • Any hidden talents? No way. I flaunt what I got! haha
  • What is a word or phrase you overuse? Your mom.
  • What was the hardest thing that happened to you this past year? My life is pretty easy. The break up a year ago was hard on me but helped shape me into a new person and gave me motivation to change what I didn't like about myself.
  • What is the best thing that happened to you this past year? So much really. I quit smoking, took up bicycle riding. Took new jobs and explored mountains. Bonded with my family and started AmeriCorps NCCC. This feels like the best year of my life so far.
  • What is one thing you hope to accomplish this year? I would like to continue living in happiness the way I have for the past year. I would also like to find a bit more direction in life and come up with a plan for life after AmeriCorps. Mostly I want to be a good person.
  • The best piece of advice you learned this past year? Love life. It's good.
  • Who are the 7 people you are going to tag to do this survey? Crap. Ummm, Erin? Zoal? Most of my blogfriends have done it already.
  • At the end of the survey post a picture of you that was taken within the last week.
      • It's the most recent picture I have readily available, taken at Ameri-Idol last week.

I could start a new blog and make 2 posts, separating the survey from the rest, but that's more work for me. I'm lazy right now.

We wrapped up our Red Cross Disaster Relief training this week. Sitting through those lectures was a bit torturous at times, especially on the day that I had only 2 hours of sleep and 5 am PT. Overall I enjoyed the classes and felt like I learned a lot.

My highlight of the week was spending the afternoon at the Boys & Girls Club today. Our work day ended really early, around noon, so we did some independent service from 3-6. I drew pictures with little girls, jumped rope with a group of kids, played ping-pong, and listened to kids' laughter. I miss my youngest brother so much and being around the youth today gave my spirit a bit of a boost.

I've never felt homesick like this. I've never really left home before. It's a dull ache and I feel clingy. I spent over an hour on the phone with my family tonight and I cried when I finally hung up. Hearing their voices was so nice and I could have spent the entire night listening to them talk. On Monday I am probably going to the dentist. I hate having my teeth worked on, but I am SO excited. I just need some family love and am looking forward to being with Sara. Enough emo me. I'm going to bed.

xoxo

Comments

  1. You are so brave! Not to mention tough! Mrs firewoman. I wish I was in that good of shape! You are going to be an amazing mother one day! Being pregnant and having young kids is a VERY physical task! (I'm NOT pregnant at this point in time, but I do speak from experience!)
    I love reading about you! When else could we sit and chat one with another :)!
    Hopefully you will find releif from your toothache soon!
    You are in my prayer!
    Jacque

    ReplyDelete
  2. oops that is one of your peeves- I meant to spell relief instead of releif!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Spelling errors of my own are my pet peeve. You are aok!

    :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Spinning Jacob Sheep's Wool

Washing a Romney Fleece (sheep's wool, not a sweater from a presidential hopeful)

March Canning: Pickled Kale